Best Paper Awards

The Best-Paper Award goes to:

Vatsala Sharma and colleagues, for their paper titled “Semi-Supervised Deep Expectation-Maximization for Low-Dose PET-CT”.

The Best-Paper Runner-Up Awards, in no particular order, go to:

Benoit Sauty and colleagues, for their paper titled “Riemannian Metric Learning for Progression Modeling of Longitudinal Datasets”


Vasiliki Stergiopoulou and colleagues, for their paper titled “3D Image Super-Resolution by Fluorophore Fluctuations and MA-TIRF Microscopy Reconstruction (3D-COL0RME)”.


Earlier, a set of twelve papers were shortlisted for consideration of the best-paper awards, based on the ratings and comments from the paper reviewers as well as the associate editors during the paper-selection process, and where the first author was a student or an early-career researcher. The papers represent a good diversity across research topics, geographical locations of the authors, first-author gender, etc. Winners were selected by an Awards Committee comprising senior IEEE researchers, and announced in the Awards Ceremony on 30 March 2022 at 19:30 IST.

Congratulations to our best-paper-award finalists who are listed (in no particular order) below.